Silver award recipients set new achievement record

Congratulations to the seven IHCA and ICAL member facilities that have earned the AHCA/NCAL 2018 Silver – Achievement in Quality Award in recognition of their commitment to improving the lives of residents through quality care.

Correctionville Specialty Care, Correctionville
Great River Klein Center, West Burlington
La Porte City Specialty Care, La Porte City
Martin Health Center, Inc, Cedar Falls
Summit Pointe Senior Living, Marion
Sunrise Terrace Nursing & Rehabilitation Center, Winfield     
The Gardens Assisted Living-Cherokee, Cherokee

All will be recognized at AHCA/NCAL’s 69th Annual Convention and Exposition, October 7-10, in San Diego.

The National Quality Award Program by AHCA/NCAL spotlights centers across the country that have demonstrated their commitment to delivering quality care for seniors and individuals with disabilities.

Iowa's 32 Bronze and 7 Silver Award recipients this year are the most in each category since the program's inception. “We’re very proud that seven more member facilities have achieved this next level of recognition in quality care,” said Mary Jane Carothers, IHCA VP, Quality Improvement and Clinical Affairs. “IHCA and ICAL members continue to demonstrate every day how providers strive for quality excellence to improve the lives of those they care for.”

Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. The program assists providers of long term and post-acute care services in achieving their performance excellence goals.

The program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Provider organizations begin the quality improvement process at the Bronze level and must receive an award at each level before proceeding to the next. To date, 19 IHCA and ICAL member organizations have received the Silver – Achievement in Quality Award and 177 Iowa providers have earned the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award. The Alverno Health Care Facility in Clinton was recognized as Iowa's first Gold – Excellence in Quality Award recipient last September.

Recipients of the 2018 Silver – Achievement in Quality Award may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Gold – Excellence in Quality Award, which requires them to address the Baldrige Health Care Criteria for Performance Excellence in its entirety.