A record number of National Quality Bronze Awards for Iowa!

IHCA and ICAL are thrilled to announced that 32 long term and post-acute care members across Iowa were recognized with a 2018 Bronze - Commitment to Quality Award by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) for their dedication to quality care. The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program honors providers throughout the country that have demonstrated their commitment to delivering quality care for seniors and persons with disabilities.

Only three states – California, Florida and Texas – had more Bronze Award recipients in 2018 than Iowa. A total of 177 IHCA member nursing facilities and assisted living programs have earned the Bronze Award to date.  

Congratulations to the 2018 Iowa Bronze Award recipients:

Accura Healthcare of Pleasantville, Pleasantville
Accura Healthcare of Sioux City, Sioux City
Chariton Specialty Care, Chariton
Char-Mac Assisted Living of Holstein
Cherokee Specialty Care, Cherokee
Corning Specialty Care, Corning
Creston Specialty Care, Creston
Dubuque Specialty Care, Dubuque
Dunlap Assisted Living, Dunlap
Ennoble Skilled Nursing and Rehab, Dubuque
Heartland Care Center, Marcus
Lenox Care Center, Lenox
Linn Haven Rehab and Healthcare, New Hampton
Longhouse-Northshire, LTD, Spencer
Manly Specialty Care, Manly
Mechanicsville Specialty Care, Mechanicsville
Monticello Nursing and Rehabilitation Campus, Monticello
Plymouth Manor Care Center, Le Mars
Ravenwood Specialty Care, Waterloo
Regency Care Center, Norwalk
Regency Park of Carroll, Carroll
Rotary Senior Living, Eagle Grove
Strawberry Point Lutheran Home Community, Strawberry Point
Sunny Knoll Care Centre, Rockwell City
The Fountains Assisted Living, Bettendorf
The Heritage at Fox Run Assisted Living, Council Bluffs
Thomas Rest Haven and Park View Assisted Living, Coon Rapids
Valley Lodge Assisted Living, Correctionville
Wapello Specialty Care, Wapello
West Bend Health and Rehab, West Bend
Westwood Specialty Care, Sioux City
Woodlands Creek, Clive

The National Quality Award Program, implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, which is the foundation of the metric-based AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative. The National Quality Award program assists providers of long term and post-acute care services in achieving the application of continuous quality improvement.

The program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Providers begin the quality improvement journey at the Bronze level, where they develop an organizational profile with essential performance elements such as vision and mission statements and an assessment of customers’ expectations. Bronze applicants must also demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Trained Examiners review each Bronze application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria. Recipients of the Bronze - Commitment to Quality Award may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Silver - Achievement in Quality Award.

The awards will be presented during AHCA/NCAL’s 69th Annual Convention and Exposition in San Diego, California, October 7-10, 2018.

To learn more about how your organization can work toward a National Quality Award, click here or contact Mary Jane Carothers at 800.422.3106.