The Alverno is among the Gold Award elite!

The Alverno Health Care Facility of Clinton was one of three long term and post-acute care providers named as an AHCA/NCAL 2017 Gold – Excellence in Quality Award recipient. The Alverno is the first Iowa facility to earn the Gold Award. The award is the final of three distinct levels possible through the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program, which recognizes organizations nationally that serve as models of excellence in providing high-quality care.

The 2017 Gold – Excellence in Quality Award recipients are:

    Inova Loudoun Nursing and Rehabilitation Center, Leesburg, VA
    Edgemoor Distinct Part Skilled Nursing Facility (DPSNF), Santee, CA
    The Alverno Health Care Facility, Clinton, IA

Congratulations to The Alverno Administrator Libby Goodman and The Alverno staff!

Since the inception of the National Quality Award Program in 1996, only 34 long term and post-acute care providers nationally have achieved this level of quality recognition.

Based on the core values and criteria of the nationally recognized Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program challenges member providers to achieve performance excellence through three progressive levels — Bronze, Silver, and Gold. The Gold – Excellence in Quality Award is the most prestigious of the program. At this level, recipients have invested multiple years in mastering and applying the rigorous quality improvement standards of the Baldrige Criteria to achieve superior results in leadership, strategic planning, customer and workforce focus, and operations and knowledge management.

AHCA/NCAL announced the recipients of the Bronze – Commitment to Quality on June 1 and Silver – Achievement in Quality on July 6. The award recipients will be recognized during AHCA/NCAL’s 68th Annual Convention and Exposition in Las Vegas, NV, October 15-18, 2017.

Iowa 2017 National Quality Award recipients


Accura Healthcare of Baxter, Baxter
Accura Healthcare of Cherokee, Cherokee
Accura Healthcare of Newton East, Newton
Accura Healthcare of Newton West, Newton
Accura Healthcare of Pomeroy, Pomeroy
Avoca Lodge Assisted Living, Avoca
Belle Plaine Specialty Care, Belle Plaine
Centerville Specialty Care, Centerville
Chautauqua Guest Home #2, Charles City
Dunlap Specialty Care, Dunlap
Good Samaritan Society Timber Ridge Assisted Living, Ottumwa
Good Samaritan Society-Manson, Manson
Homestead of Creston, Creston
Homestead of Mason City, Mason City
IOOF Home and Community Therapy Center, Mason City
Kingsley Specialty Care, Kingsley
Lyon Specialty Care, Rock Rapids
Premier Estates of Toledo, Toledo
Southridge Specialty Care, Marshalltown
Sunnycrest Nursing Center, Dysart


Bedford Specialty Care, Bedford
Crestview Specialty Care, West Branch
Maple Heights, Mapleton
Sibley Specialty Care, Sibley

The Kensington, Fort Madison


The Alverno Health Care Facility, Clinton

To learn more about the National Quality Award Program, visit the program website or email Iowa members can also contact Mary Jane Carothers, IHCA VP, Quality Improvement & Clinical Affairs.