2017 Foundation scholarship recipients announced

The IHCA Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Health Care Scholarships. The Foundation will make presentations to 32 recipients who will each receive a $1,000 scholarship for the 2017–2018 school year.

The scholarships are made possible by the generous contributors: the John R. and Zelda Z. Grubb Charitable Foundation, the Vetter Foundation, the Tom Juckette memorial fund, HPSI, the IHCA and ICAL Districts, and IHCA organization, corporate and associate members.

John R. Grubb Scholarship
Natasha Blackburn, Bethany Home
Jennifer Erickson, Kensington Place Assisted Living
Vickie Jacobsen, Anamosa Care Center
Katrina Landt, Edgewood Convalescent Home
Sara McCool, Edgewood Convalescent Home
Elizabeth McWhinney, Hawkeye Care Center of Dubuque
Emily Overy, Good Shepherd Health Center
Meghan Rennells, Good Samaritan Society-St. Ansgar
Ashley Springer, Good Samaritan Society-St. Ansgar
Norell Brown, Hawkeye Care Center of Spirit Lake
Angela Baxter, Prairie View
Emily Brosamle, Cherokee Villa Nursing and Rehab Center
Elizabeth Henke, Heartland Care Center
Heather Hernandez, Fellowship Village
Alexa Meyer, Hegg Memorial Health Center
Brianna Witzke, Good Samaritan Society-Holstein
Tina Failor, St. Francis Manor
Candice Guiter, Vista Woods
Josie Leshen, St. Francis Manor
Katelyn Spence, Great River Health Systems – Klein Center
Vanessa Young, Accura Healthcare of Newton East
Emily Ceminsky, Thomas Rest Haven
Jayce Esslinger, Freedom Home Health Care
Gentry Sheer, Thomas Rest Haven
Madison Sturm, Hawkeye Care Center of Carroll

The Vetter Foundation Scholarship
Deven Blair, Shady Oaks Care Center
Tyson Branscomb, Solon Retirement Village

IHCA Memorial Scholarship
Michelle Moffitt, Indianola Good Samaritan

Northeast District Scholarship
Victoria Murl, Good Shepherd Health Center

Northwest District Scholarship
Brooke Hunwardsen, Char-Mac Assisted Living-Lawton
Bethany Los, Sioux Center Health Royale Meadows

Southeast District Scholarship
Trisha Wethington, Cedar Manor Nursing Home

The purpose of the IHCA Foundation Scholarship Program is to further the education of providers in long term health services and supports and to support the betterment of quality care across Iowa. To be eligible to receive a scholarship, recipients must be employed at an IHCA member organization and furthering their education in nursing, physical/occupational therapy or health care administration with the goal of working in long term services and supports.

Employees at member organizations who are furthering their education in the 2018–2019 academic year are encouraged to apply for the 2018 Foundation Scholarship. Applications will be available at in early 2018.