Iowa's AHCA/NCAL Silver Award recipients!

Congratulations to the five IHCA and ICAL member facilities that have earned the AHCA/NCAL 2017 Silver – Achievement in Quality Award in recognition of their commitment to improving the lives of residents through quality care.

Bedford Specialty Care, Bedford, Administrator Bo Conard
Crestview Specialty Care, West Branch, Administrator Cheryl Mercer
Maple Heights, Mapleton, Administrator Tom Swanson
Sibley Specialty Care, Sibley, Administrator Jessica McDyer
The Kensington, Fort Madison, Administrator Rachel Benda

All will be recognized at AHCA/NCAL’s 68th Annual Convention and Exposition, October 15-18, in Las Vegas.

The National Quality Award Program by AHCA/NCAL spotlights centers across the country that have demonstrated their commitment to delivering quality care for seniors and individuals with disabilities.

“We’re very proud that five more member facilities have been achieved this next level of recognition in quality care,” said Mary Jane Carothers, IHCA VP, Quality Improvement and Clinical Affairs. “This demonstrates how providers continue to strive for quality excellence in improving the lives of those they care for every day.”

Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. The program assists providers of long term and post-acute care services in achieving their performance excellence goals.

The program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Provider organizations begin the quality improvement process at the Bronze level and must receive an award at each level before proceeding to the next. To date, 12 IHCA and ICAL member organizations have received the Silver – Achievement in Quality Award and 145 Iowa providers have earned the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award.

Applicants at the Bronze level must demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Trained Examiners review each Bronze application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria. At the Silver level, applicants demonstrate systematic advancements in quality, plans for continual improvement, and sustainable organizational goals.

Recipients of the 2017 Silver – Achievement in Quality Award may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the criteria required for the Gold – Excellence in Quality Award, which requires them to address the Baldrige Health Care Criteria for Performance Excellence in its entirety.